Being allowed to stay up for Match of the Day

These days I probably miss Match of the Day more often than I catch it…

But there was a time when it was a precious rarity and privilege.
The combination of factors had to be there. I had to have been ‘good’ all week.
And Leicester had to be one of the main featured games.
And Dad had to be in a good mood.
Only then would I be allowed to stay up WAY past my bedtime.
Like the alignment of the planets, this happened now and again.
I would sit as near to our black and white ‘Pye’ tv set as was allowed to fully take in the majestic splendour of Keith Weller and Frank Worthington.

It didn’t always work out. I recall having to press my ear to the floorboards of my bedroom in order to listen to a 2-2 draw for City at Elland Road.

Duh duh duh duuuuh duh duh duh duh duh…

If you can only be arsed with Match of the Day 2 on a Sunday evening these days you should probably own a copy of retro-footy-grumble-fest ‘Got, Not Got’ … you can get it from branches of WH Smith and Waterstones or online here

About thefoxfanzine

Editor of The FOX Fanzine - covering Leicester City for 23 years... it seems longer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

